Supper in Seven Minutes

What happens when you are craving pizza AND a burger but you have seven minutes to make supper? …the open faced pizza lentil burger is born.

When hunger strikes, sometimes you just need a quick “ready-made” meal.  This interesting combo was a pizza-burger hybrid to satisfy my cravings.  The recipe for success is super simple.

I used a lentil veggie burger because I love incorporating plant-based proteins into my diet.  Working with plant based proteins (such as lentils) are cheaper, quicker to cook, low fat, and add more fibre to your diet!

What you need?

  • Lentil burger
  • Slice of bread
  • Tomato sauce
  • Cheese (My dad treats us to his smoked cheese which makes every recipe even better)
  • Toppings of choice: jalapenos, onions, mushrooms, avocado, pickles, peppers, tomatoes, or other grilled vegetables – the possibilities are up to your imagination.

See the photo gallery below for images of products I used.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I needed quick vegetable side dishes to balance my plate so I chose pickled beets, cherry tomatoes, and quick grilled sweet potato fries.

What to do?

  1. Toss your burgers on the grill.  I used a counter-top electric grill press (these can be a pain to clean but quickly cook quality food).  Since using lentil burgers, they cook way faster than beef patties – only 5 minutes.
  2. Toast your bread in the toaster to desired darkness.
  3. Prepare your toppings and side dishes of choice. I sliced up cheese and jalapenos for on top.  I also prepped my side dishes at this time, which included quickly grilling sweet potato fries, washing cherry tomatoes, dishing pickled beets, and blending together a smoothie to complete the meal.
  4. When the toast is done, cover in a generous amount of tomato sauce.  Layer the lentil burger, cheese, and desired toppings.

Boom. Done.  Supper in 7 minutes.

What are your favourite quick, easy, ready-made meals?

Leave a Reply

